Note To Damon Albarn…

Damon Albarn presented the Mojo Legend Award to Ike Turner this week.
damonike.jpgiketurner.jpg

There are a lot of misconceptions about this man,” Damon said on Monday, as the magazine hailed the 75-year-old as a “truly unique” music star.

Ike told the audience, “I’m 75 now so thank you to Mojo for getting me over here. All I can say is thank you everybody. London was my beginning and I hope this is not my end.

Ike also once said, “Sure, I’ve slapped Tina … there have been times when I punched her to the ground without thinking. But I never beat her. I did no more to Tina than I would have someone do to my mother in the same circumstances.

    Dear Damon,

Trust me… there are NO “misconceptions” about this man. We know he recorded some great songs*. We also know he is a fucking wife-beating ex-con cokehead bastard. He is basically Bobby Brown in 35 years.

I generally appreciate your brash honesty and genuinely like you as both an artist and as a person. However… on the subject of Ike Turner…

    Shut The Fuck Up.

xoxo The Rev


*That was the most recent of Ike’s “great songs,” Every Planet We Reach Is Dead by Damon Albarn’s Gorillaz, Live in Manchester.
ddmanchwtmk.jpg

The Rev Wuz There. Shout-out to Manchester, yo.
Absolutely no shout-out to Ike, tho. (Yo.)

~ by reverendsupreme on June 20, 2007.

One Response to “Note To Damon Albarn…”

  1. […] Speaking of Ike Turner… We were just talking about Ike Turner and that Mojo Award! […]

Leave a Reply

 
